Songbird 1.0 – Soma.FM ?

Time and time again, I often find myself listening to music while studying. As exams draw near, I enjoy having internet radio play softly (or at least attempt to) while I crack open the course book and or lecture notes. Having just formatted my laptop yet again, I wanted to try out something fresh and new.  A recently interesting article at  Ars Technica about Mozilla’s new media player, Songbird hitting the release milestone of 1.0 and my involvement with Mozilla this semester, ideally warranted the perfect opportunity to try out Songbird. Low and behold a great product, features a plenty but some, I can’t see myself ever using,  i.e., muxtape and Last FM – I was pleasantly surprised. I was also shocked to see that under Radio Stations, Shoutcast but not Soma FM. Soma FM is 14 unique channels of listener-supported, commercial-free, underground/alternative radio broadcasting from San Francisco.

This calls for the power of addons.

So for all you Soma and Shoutcast fans out there, stay tuned as this holiday break as I want to utilize the skills I learned this semester, using XPCOM/Chrome/XUL and write a Soma FM addon for Songbird. I picture the addon just sitting below Shoutcast on the left sidebar and it very similarly listing Soma FM’s stations.

Any other Soma listeners out there?  Anyone else want to collaborate?
www.somafm.com

4 responses to this post.

  1. I’d love to help however I can. Drop me an email to discuss further. We have some special feeds available that could integrate nicely with the plugin.

  2. I am interested as well but suck at coding, I can test if needed. Good Luck!!!

  3. Hi, is there any update to this?

  4. Posted by Aaron on March 29, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Sorry, there is no update. I got fairly busy over the months.

Leave a Reply

